Check in/Check up

10 Aug

Veteran readers of my blog (all three of you) will be familiar with the museum volunteer work I have been doing over the summer holiday.  After a long weekend in Mike’s home-town of Beverley, spent eating, drinking wine and watching Mad Men, my shift helping out with Egyptian afternoon came as rather a shock to my lethargic system. It was BUSY. And there was paint. After three hours of running around like a maniac, I was beginning to wish it had been me that had drawn the short straw and been the one who got mummified. At least that would have only required lying in a box.  I don’t mean to sound like a grouch though, I really do enjoy it, just not the fact that I am totally ready for bed at half past six.

After a rather too hasty cycle home (my poor, unprepared thighs…), I had barely sat down to my salad sandwich and copy of The Times before my mum made me take my cat to see the vet.  I have posted a photo of my cat on here before,  but because he is pretty much my favourite living creature, I am going to post another one.

If you don't like him, then I don't like you.

Normally, I would let my parents take him for his cat check ups.  But apparently my hypochondria does not limit itself to my own well-being any more, as I had, with the help of Google, convinced myself my beloved Sam had either cat AIDS (bad) or Cat Leukaemia (really bad), due to some discolouring in his eyes.  According to my somewhat bemused vet, this is merely a sign of getting old, which is something I did not see on any of the cat pervert forums I was reading when I made my extreme diagnosis.  Maybe I should apply this discovery to my own anxious symptom Googling, and realise that these people are also freaks who think they have diseases, so it is probably not in my best interests to listen to them.  Anyway, my cat lives to see another day, which pleases me greatly, because a life without him occasionally biting my dad seems like a far more depressing one.

Speaking of Beverley, albeit much earlier in this post, I picked up such a wonderful magazine while I was there.  I had never heard of it before, but it is apparently onto its second edition, and is created in London.  It is called Oh Comely, and the closest equivalent to it, that I can think of, is the American fashion magazine Lula.  I really recommend looking at the website as it has a lot of information about the magazine, links to their Facebook and Twitter accounts, and a blog that is far more interesting, and far more regularly updated, than mine.

I apologise for that terrible photograph, but I blame the limitations of my camera phone.  As if the simple cover wasn’t appealing enough, the writing reads: ‘We planted a garden, baked some white chocolate and peanut butter cookies, found the best views of the city, weaved a rosette from ribbons and photographed some pretty clothes.‘  How these people found a list of my favourite things I don’t know, but I am more than delighted that they did.  The idea behind Oh Comely, is that it is ‘a magazine for curious people.  People who can’t look at an object without wondering about the people who made it, why they made it, and what their lives were like.’ These are certainly notions I can get behind, particularly when they feature my favourite violin-touting musician Owen Pallett, and an article on how to learn to love tomatoes (not something I have struggled with).  I don’t know how much success I am going to have in tracking down the next issue what with my North Eastern existence, so am considering losing my magazine subscription virginity for a very worthy cause.  My grandma used to get me CosmoGirl when I was 14, but I’m not sure that really counts…

Last but not least, I came online today to find that this here blog had been discovered by the nice folk of the Newcastle University Alumni Association, who had tweeted about me and featured me on their facebook page, all because of my polo shirt modelling a few weeks ago.  Obviously I went bright red, but was secretly thrilled with my new found internet fame.  I will bring a batch of chocolate concrete to your office any time!

5 Responses to “Check in/Check up”

  1. rosie 10/08/2010 at 10:56 pm #

    Thank you for recommending this magazine, I can’t wait to sneak a peak at it! Lula is my favourite thing of all, the only shop that sold it in Brighton has now closed and I feel at a total loss not having the most recent issue in my collection. I’m going to search this one out this weekend…

    …p.s. AMAZING cat!

  2. Helena 10/08/2010 at 11:12 pm #

    Missing the redhead issue of Lula will always be something I majorly regret! I only ever found it in Borders around these parts, and now that’s a gonner my hopes aren’t high. This magazine seems a welcome replacement though, and the price of the subscription seems too good to be true…
    ps. I enjoyed your July Spotify playlist, I meant to say at the time!

  3. Lee 11/08/2010 at 7:40 pm #

    Is your cat a Maine Coon by chance?

    • Helena 11/08/2010 at 8:57 pm #

      He’s just a scruffy rescue cat moggy, but we think he may have a touch of Maine Coon in him! It would certainly explain his mane.

  4. kathurine 13/08/2010 at 5:01 pm #

    you are such a suck up to the alumni society

Leave a Reply

