If you don’t believe in destiny then take what you are given

14 Sep

I received this album, I’m Having Fun Now by Jenny (Lewis) and Johnny (Rice), through the post today.  My use of received is maybe a little misleading there; what I mean is that I ordered this album what feels like forever ago and it finally arrived this morning.   Normally when bloggers use the term ‘received’ it means some greater power sent them it as a gift so they would write about it/make them look amazing by wearing it with their supreme internet fame, but, in case you hadn’t noticed, there is no such fame around these parts.  Cold, hard, invisible cash was electronically parted with over the wonder than is Amazon Marketplace, and, consequentially, I retain my integrity but find myself (even) poorer.  And still unable to unironically refer to myself as a blogger.

… Anyway.  For the benefit of anyone reading this who doesn’t know me at all, I think Jenny Lewis is kind of a big deal. My ‘religious views’ on the gospel that is Facebook are, surprisingly enough, ‘Jenny Lewis’.  First, back in the heady days of 2005 when I had to listen to music in my room as nightclub bouncers laughed in my childish face, I loved Rilo Kiley, then I loved Jenny Lewis and the Watson Twins, then I loved plain ol’ Jenny Lewis, so the laws of probability, plus my blind adoration, stated that I was going to love this release.  Which I do.  But only after listening on repeat since returning from ‘work’ (read: aforementioned prosperous dinnerlady career).  My initial listening was rather spoiled by getting ready to go to the dentist, so my thoughts were mostly in the ‘pleasant, needs further consideration’ bracket.  Further consideration has now been applied, and I think it is fair to say that this is a good album.  Nothing exceptional, just well written, mid-tempo, country-tinged rock/pop, with three stand out tracks, Big Wave, My Pet Snakes and Scissor Runner.  I just wish the Jenny to Johnny ratio was weighed a little more in the former’s favour, as I am a sucker for a female vocal, especially when it’s Jenny.  All in all, I am pleased.  And if my suspicions/fanatical prayers are answered, and Jenny and Johnny support Belle and Sebastian on their December tour, I will probably work myself up into such a fit of the joyous vapours that I will need to borrow Betty Draper’s fainting couch.

(Screencaps taken from – here – a brilliant blog with amazingly thorough Mad Men style posts)

Of late, my time has mostly been spent getting up to date with Mad Men so I can watch it as it progresses on BBC4 with Mike, reading Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go (really good but I had already read what happens in an article when it came out, they don’t call them spoilers for nothing) and having a massive bedroom organisation for the inevitable packing to return permanently to Newcastle.  I took this photo to send to Mike, to illustrate the enormity of the task:

Clearly by this point I had reached such a shame and denial spiral that I was unable to make my own bed.  After a day of intense tidying, all is now in order and my mother is no longer ashamed of me.  Another benefit of having a clear deskspace in my room (please note precariously balanced netbook on the bottom left of my bed, what is wrong with me?) is that I have been able to start a bit of pre-emptive reading for my MA course.  OH HOLY GOD.  Did I say that was a positive thing? It is impossible! I don’t know what my course is even about any more, since the modules deceptively entitled ‘Reading the Past’ in actuality should just be called ‘Ploughing through a book of philosophical extracts about memory until our brains melt’.  I don’t know, at least I won’t be bored? It’s just not really what I was expecting or what I know I am good at, but I suppose it is good to work outside your comfort zone.  And at least the topic of memory allows for some good philosopher puns if you forget the point of what you are saying in a seminar.  I have so far progressed through Plato and Aristotle and think I have at least a fundamental grasp of what I’ve been reading, so maybe everything will be alright.

For now, I am going to reread my note, created during today’s rain-caused indoor playtime, that states ‘Dear Miss Sinclear, You are a good teacher and a good dinnerlady, love from Elle and Amber xxx’ and feel smug.

Leave a Reply

