Cold forever

17 Dec

The thermometer in my kitchen (that Mike won by filling a survey in about recycling bins) has yet to leave the zone marked ‘Discomfort,’ since it assumed its place on the worktop at the beginning of the week.  No wonder I’m such a rat bag.  Oh student budget, how wonderful you are (and that’s before cuts and increased fees…).  Mike and I have started to check BBC weather with an obsessive regularity, and collectively shudder when we see any minus signs.

Luckily, I have discovered that Heinz’s Lentil Soup is my favourite food ever, so I have been eating copious amounts to keep my internal temperature at one that does not allow for ‘risk of illness.’  I’m pretty sure that it is nigh impossible to die of hypothermia when full of a steaming paste-like substance that is apparently a mix of potatoes, lentils and carrots (and copious amounts of pepper and chilli flakes added by me (no offence Mr. Heinz) for an extra warmth kick.

Please note my The Pursuit of Love mug, which my friend Aimee bought for me, for my 21st birthday back in April.  It is a prized possession, and particularly apparent, as I wrote my undergraduate dissertation on Nancy Mitford and Evelyn Waugh.  My fascination with the Mitford sisters knows no bounds; maybe I’ll write about it another time.  And it was only spurred on by my recent reading of the fact that J.K.Rowling based the Black sisters (Bellatrix, Narcissa and Andromeda) on three of the six Mitford girls, Unity, Diana and Jessica, the latter of which is one of Rowling’s key inspiration figures.  I love it when passions collide!

Leave a Reply

