So this is the New Year

2 Jan

… but unlike Death Cab for Cutie, I do have some resolutions, which I will go into later.

Christmas has rushed past in a blur at the Sinclair household.  My parents were and still are rather stressed over and concerned about ancient, ailing family members, and I have been to-ing and fro-ing between Mike’s house and home.  The two places could not be more strikingly different; my house is full of worry and not so full of relatives, whereas Mike’s is full of cheer and shouting children.  It has been really lovely to experience the latter, but the calm of a New Year at home with some old family friends was much appreciated after arguments with seven year olds about Who Wants to be a Millionaire questions.

I received some lovely things for Christmas thanks to the excellent taste of my mum and Mike.  I am probably most excited about getting stuck into the boxset of Twin Peaks, cracking out some Jamie Oliver and Sophie Dahl recipes and being forever bag-free due to (finally) owning some YSL Touche Eclat,  but I also have a hefty pile of books to work my way through after January (month of essay doom) is over.  Admittedly, I have succumbed to one of my books already, as I devoured Rick Riordan’s Heroes of Olympus: The Lost Hero in a couple of days.  Postgraduate literature students are allowed to read teenage fiction too… probably.  Don’t tell. Anyway, I stand by the fact that Percy Jackson and all affiliated books are intellectual, as I once answered a University Challenge question on Greek mythology through the knowledge gained from them.  Any excuse to make up for my great indulgence of my childish side.

As far as New Year’s resolutions go, I, as ever, have several.

1. To write down five positives about each day, so when I get into a foul mood where I think my life is a sea of misery, I can prove myself wrong.

2. To be less jealous of other people, and instead, be inspired by what they have achieved and how they have got there.

3. To learn to knit.  (This is well in progress, please see concluding photograph)

4.  To cook from recipes more often.

5.  To remember to take my vitamins every day.

6.  To embrace my university workload rather than fear it.

7. To go for a walk every day (no staying indoors/in pyjamas all day)

8. To take any necessary steps to better my mental health and happiness.

4 Responses to “So this is the New Year”

  1. Steph 03/01/2011 at 12:16 pm #

    Helena, yesterday i was looking at what was on at the Sydney opera house, expecting mostly opera, and it was Charlie and Lola! Never wished for apparation to be possible more, for you. xxx

  2. Kate 03/01/2011 at 5:40 pm #

    Huzzah for the wee owl! Two-handed colourwork next, then?

    • Helena 03/01/2011 at 7:50 pm #

      I shudder at the thought. Although, I have graduated from managing to gain at least two stitches per row to 20 inches of moss stitch sewn into a lovely bow, so I currently feel like anything is possible! At the rate I’m going I’ll have to hand it in in place of a yet-to-be-started essay on epitaphs (memory module = truly dreadful and being removed next year, typical) so it’s a good job I’ve improved.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thief « Helena Kate Sinclair - 05/01/2011

    […] on New Year’s Eve.  Here is my favourite, and one that proves I knitted the previously shown little pink owl and didn’t get my mum to do it (like my year 9 textiles […]

Leave a Reply

