Sunrise, Sunset

16 Jan

My high hopes for today being super duper productive were thoroughly quashed when I stayed up until 4am last night to finish the book I was reading, then cried for an hour over the ending of it, and then woke up at 12:30pm with swollen eyes and a headache. There is nothing like waking up in the afternoon to make you feel useless for the rest of the day. Especially when it gets dark by 4pm, and all you have achieved at that point is leaving the house with wet hair to buy the paper.  But never mind.  The book in question was A. S. Byatt’s Possession, which is absolutely nothing to do with any of my university work, but Mike bought me it for Christmas, and I am incapable of showing any restraint when it comes to books I actually want to read.  Cue Harry Potter style manias involving reading when I should be sleeping/eating/washing (Bath reading = the very worst sort.  You run the risk of dropping AND your arms get cold).  Why this always happens when I have very pressing work to do, I don’t know.  I am fairly sure I could have done a lot better in my last ever undergrad exam if I hadn’t re-watched all of season three of Ashes to Ashes in time for the final episode the week before, which I maybe wouldn’t regret so much if the ending hadn’t been the biggest disappointment ever (except maybe that exam result…).

Anyway, Possession is absolutely brilliant and I thoroughly recommend it to anyone who doesn’t have an essay to do, and who likes crying almost as much as when Dumbledore died (If that is a spoiler for you then you are in the wrong place) at the end of novels.  I need Harry Potter to stop being my go-to reference for everything.  But while I’m on the subject, I have a couple of Dumbledore death anecdotes that I may as well share.  The first was when Mike came to my house during the summer holidays, but I happened to be in the middle of my 7 days 7 books challenge, so wasn’t doing much in the way of social interaction.  My mum happened to come home from work just as I was howling with grief (for about the 8th time) over Dumby and instantly shot Mike a rather cross look for upsetting me, before realising my tears were fiction based and shooting that look firmly my way for being so pathetic and such a poor host.  The second story also involves my mum, but this time the Half Blood Prince film, which I went to see at the cinema with her and my friend Steph.  My mother, being a proper grown up, remained strong, as Steph and I made little piggy snuffly noises for about 40 minutes, changing to all out sobs at the ‘wands in the air’ moment. I am pretty sure mums are supposed to embarrass their children in public, not the other way round.

Speaking of embarrassment (I am going off on a huge tangent here, that was the best link I could make), I have to go to see my doctor about a mole, and not the good sort.

As a pale and ginger person with more moles than unblemished skin, I knew this day would come.  But I had always embraced my mole-y ways, and bought into my friend and former housemate Aimee’s notion that a mole-less person was not to be trusted (we were both possibly trying to compensate for our prominent facial moles), so I feel this mole attack is very undeserved.  Plus, out of the probably nearing 200 moles that could have gone weird, it had to be one that looms large in what can only be described as the ‘groin’ region.  Typical.  This is going to be the mole version of that bloody Dorothy Wordsworth book, I just know it.

One Response to “Sunrise, Sunset”

  1. rosie 16/01/2011 at 6:10 pm #

    Until quite recently, I was never really affected by emotion in literature, and was beginning to think that my heart might be made of stone. But the demise of dobby really made me sob, and since then the floodgates have really opened. Since I do most of my reading on my hellish commute, I often find myself silently gulping down the big lump in my throat, or with a manic grin on my face. Weirdo.

    I am in the moley mole club, I had one snipped off a couple of years ago (it didn’t hurt at all, don’t worry) and I seem to get a few new ones each year. I do hope yours isn’t too troublesome though. Good luck!

    x

Leave a Reply

