I always cry at endings.

30 Jan

I watched Never Let Me Go yesterday, despite the firm warning I was given against doing so due to my fragile constitution. I read the book over summer and sobbed throughout, but the film, predictably, destroyed me even more.  I really enjoyed it, both aesthetically and plot-wise, although maybe it is more moving and thought provoking than ‘enjoyable.’  There were a few perplexing diversions from the novel, but it is quite hard to care when you are trying to hold your shit together enough to actually see the screen.   However, I am sure at least 50% of my tears were directed towards the fact I will never own such amazing clothes or have Carey Mulligan’s/Keira Knightley’s face, so maybe those less superficial than me will cope better.  Then again, I cried at a Youtube video of an American Idol audition yesterday too, so maybe ANYONE, EVER will cope better as I need to grow a pair.

Today has been spent mostly making soup and cleaning the house with Mike.  Proper mum-style cleaning too, ie. lifting things up and cleaning under them, rather than dusting around them.  It was tiring but rewarding, particularly with a bottle of fine red wine as an incentive.  Yesterday was such a write off, not only because I apparently spent most of it in tears, but also because I was so exhausted from writing essays for a month, and then on my first free day, contending with the sheer terror of attending an academic forum for the first time.  I’m so glad no one decided to shake my hand; clammy palm central. I felt half like I was the best student ever, and half like I was in Mean Girls, due to my numerous, and very obvious, intellectual inadequacies:

 

3 Responses to “I always cry at endings.”

  1. Jorgelina 31/01/2011 at 12:32 am #

    I cry a lot too! My last cries have been Narnia, the Prince Caspian one…the last scenes…and the song at the end…my god! Last night, Harry Potter and the prisoner of Azkaban, the bit where he’s watching himself and Sirius being killed by the Dementors and he’s waiting for his dad to come save them…And Grey’s Anatomy always ALWAYS makes me cry. I prefer it that way, mind…it’s easier to cry over a film than actually manage to stop crying over real life stuff. 😦

    • Jorgelina 31/01/2011 at 2:45 am #

      Oh, and just while watching it I remembered, I also cry a lot with the dog whisperer!

  2. Helena 31/01/2011 at 12:38 am #

    I’ve never watched Grey’s Anatomy, but I have definitely cried at Narnia and Harry Potter! I’m terrible, as soon as something is slightly sad or even really sweet (like the end of Juno which I cried at on TV the other night, haha) in a book or a film, I well up.

Leave a Reply

